To all the black little girls in the projects, my black sisters who strip, black women athletes, my black educated queens, my trap queens, and my round the way girls this is for you.

I’m a self-proclaimed Hip Hop Feminist and I want to uplift women and men of color. Hip Hop Feminism focuses on the black woman not as victim, but someone who seeks empowerment on spiritual, material, physical, and emotional levels. Hip hop feminism aims to seek understanding on cultural, social, and political aspects that affect women of color.

Joan Morgan pioneered this strand of feminism for us and it found its way to me in my Genders of Popular Culture class during my senior year at my undergraduate university. The class was led by Male Hip Hop Feminist Scholar, Dr. Melvin L. Williams. I was tasked to make a presentation on two Chapters of Joan Morgan’s book When Chickenheads Come Home to  Roost: A Hip Hop Feminist Breaks It Down. The chapters I presented on dealt with what Hip Hop feminism was and the shift from fly girls to bad bitches and hoes.

Until reading those two chapters, I felt like I didn’t have a place in feminism. I finally found my place in this strand of feminism that was made by us and for us. These chapters helped me find a place in journalism as well. I could now relate hip hop to the social injustice that women and men of color face.

This class was almost a year ago, but since then I have tailored my journalism pieces in graduate school around gender, women, and class. Recently  I have started to explore misogyny and examine black masculinity along with homophobia.

I’m still growing each day as a Hip Hop Feminist, but I’m gaining knowledge through reading research and books dealing with Hip Hop Feminism; I want my viewers to grow with me too. I want this blog to be our spot to discuss issues about us, because there are way too many people discussing us besides us.

I get it sisters, you feel like this feminism jazz is not for you, but I assure you it is. Too long have we been marginalized by society and within our black community. Too long has our sexuality been criticized, exploited, but appropriated by other cultures. Too many times have we been told to straighten out hair because white America is so uncomfortable with themselves they have to give us flaws. Too many times has white supremacy evoked this notion of moving away from our black femininity to achieve success. Drop all of that baggage and be free my sisters, today is the day you stop being a sucka to white supremacy. You aren’t militant because you’re pro black; we will no longer sit in silence.

Black men, we are a united front and I do realize the problems you face in society, as well as within the black community. Hip Hop Feminism is an open conversation that you are welcome to enter. Everyone bashes you, calling you a brute, thug, gang banger, and so on. No one is looking at how society has stripped your manhood or the constant digs that black masculinity takes inside and outside of the black community. Black men can be very homophobic, but with the proper tools this can be broken. You are constantly on edge because you feel as if your black masculinity is being attacked.

This blog is for the us to have a simple virtual meeting place to discuss our oppressions as people of color, but to also dispel the victim notion that has been sold to us. Please don’t be afraid of this journey we are taking, and at times I may write pieces that you completely disagree with. That’s okay as long as you leave this blog with additional knowledge, my mission has worked.

